Religion, history and art in the patrician chapel of the Villa
Spirituality too finds a place in the Villa Cordevigo Wine Relais estate with its ancient chapel of St Martin, an architectural gem with its very own treasure trove: an exceptional collection of saints' relics.
There are more than three thousand relics which were collected, in order to avoid them being stolen by invaders, by the villa's owner, Bishop Marcantonio Lombardo, during the 18th Century.
The Church of San Martino was first built around 1400 and was probably extended and changed to its current form during the 1700's, when it became the villa's patrician chapel. It is still consecrated and it is also possible for religious ceremonies to be held there.